A Plea for Help.

This is a plea for help. I hate doing this and I hate that I am in a situation that I feel the need to do this. But I’m desperate. There is something wrong with Vlad. I took him for his re-check on Sunday. He’d had a Wellness exam done about 3-4 months ago, and his creatinin levels were high, so on advice from his vet, we did a recheck.

I got a call at Midnight with the results. Their vet works the ER shift, so this is when I am able to talk to her. Vlad’s platelet count is very low. Low enough to be of concern. Needless to say, I’m freaking out. He’s been losing weight consistently for the past year, and he’s been acting odd for the past 2 weeks. I say odd because he’s been coming upstairs in the middle of the night several times for affection, and kneading at my arm. I thought it was odd, but figured maybe he was just lonely downstairs.

There are several things that this could be. It could be a mistake by the lab, which I am praying for. It could be something as simple as a kidney infection. Or it could be something as serious as FeLV. He’s always tested negative for this, but it is possible for a cat who has tested positive most of his life to have the underlying virus and have it develop. This is what I am terrified about, because I’ve read about people who have had cats develop this and they have only lived a few months.

I can’t tell you how afraid I am. I feel numb and while I love all of my cats, Vlad is my baby. He’s my special boy, and I don’t know what I will do if I lose him.

So here is where I need help. The test he needs will be a comprehensive blood and urinalysis. It’s going to cost $315, give or take. I have to take him back next Tuesday, June 28th. We should have the results back in 24-36 hours.

If anyone can please help me with any amount of money to pay for this it would be incredibly appreciated. I’m sorry, I hate doing this, but I just don’t know where to get this money. Anything of value I had I’ve already pawned, and even though I get paid at the end of the week next week, I have to pay my rent with that money.

http://widget.chipin.com/widget/id/251f44a6e8c7bdda

2 thoughts on “A Plea for Help.

  1. *hugs* I wish I had money to send you, but I’m barely surviving out here myself. I hope it’s just an infection. It sounds scary that Vlad has been losing weight and coming upstairs for affection; sounds like he’s not feeling well and that is why he needs the cuddles.

    Like

    • It’s hard June, and it’s harder because I just don’t know what it could be. There is a good possibility that this is just a lab error This not an unusual occurrence with feline platelets, so that’s what I’m hanging on to. Last night he did come up but just once, and then went back downstairs. He’s eating well which is a good sign and he’s his usual self. I wish I didn’t have to constantly worry about money like this too, that’s not helping.

      Like

Leave a Reply

